Au Revoir COMM-3444

I cannot believe this semester is already over. As we prepare ourselves to a much deserved break let’s take a quick look back at this semester. Here are my reflections on what I have learned through the various assignments this semester.

For my DIY project I created a cloud lamp with polyfill, string lights and hot glue. I had never really been that crafty before. This project thought me how to research and do things on my own, by looking at tutorials and getting inspired by other people that created things similar to the ones I wanted to do. As I said back in September this project was an emotional booster for what was to come during the rest of the semester semester.  Here’s the link to “I completed my DIY therefore I can code

Through the animation project I learned how to express my creativity inside a computer. I familiarized with Adobe Animate by creating my animation called “Spinning on Repeat.” This second project was a good middle ground that lead us into our 1st game.

My platform game, Pigeon Slayer, was probably the most fun and challenging thing I did this semester. I improved my skills in the Adobe Suite as I used Animate and Illustrator to create almost all of my assets, and I also incremented my learning of the basics of visual coding in Construct2. Here’s the link to play Pigeon Slayer on the Scirra Arcade!

My final game, Master of Masters, although created in a short and busy time of the year is what really made me understand that what we have done this semester is an ongoing project. Like for my DIY I tried doing as much research as possible before crating the actual game. As I said in the previous blog post, Master of Masters is nowhere near completed. I am sure that I will go back and not only perfect it but also enhance the platform game and animation created during the semester. There is always space for improvement! Now I am left with three projects that were conceptualized in a short amount of time but that I can always go back and improve during the years. Here’s the link to play Master of Masters in the Scirra Arcade!

The artistic process and sensibility that this class required was one of the things I enjoyed the most. Seeing how everyone approached assignments in such a different way and looking at their creations was really inspiring and fun. I will admit that I struggled many times to understand the more difficult things that this class taught which included programming. I also acknowledge that I could have taken more risks in order to learn more during the semester. Overall, now I feel more confident I think that this class was a great base for other things that I will do in life. In fact, this whole class can be considered an emotional booster! It taught me not to give up as soon as a problem is presents, but rather to approach the issue in different ways until the solution is found. Because much of the material was unfamiliar to me it taught me to ask for other people’s help and opinions. Finally, what the most important thing that this class reminded me of was that the learning experience doesn’t finish here at the end of a semester. All of us have actual proofs of our work that we can and should continue to better sooner or later, and I surely plan to do so. So by for now comm3444!

 

Leave a comment